We are delighted to host the 10th Anniversary of the International Conference of the Metabolomics Society (Metabolomics2014) in Tsuruoka City, where the very first meeting of the society was held in 2005. Since then, Tsuruoka has grown to “a city of metabolomics”; various additional research buildings have been built, and two spin-out companies established. This year the event will also act as joint event with the Plant Metabolomics Platform.

Tsuruoka is a pretty city located 500 km north of Tokyo (about 1 hour flight), and surrounded by beautiful Japanese nature, historic spots, and exotic culture. You will also enjoy the best authentic Japanese food and sake (rice wine), as well as hot springs. So, come celebrate the 10th anniversary of the society, and enjoy high-quality scientific presentations by top-notch researchers around the world. See you all there!

Masaru Tomita
General Chair, Metabolomics 2014
Director, Institute for Advanced Biosciences, Keio University

Metabolomics Society

The Metabolomics Society, a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation, was incorporated in 2004 (Massachusetts, USA) by its founding president Dr. Rima Kaddurah-Daouk and was organized and launched by a small number of key scientists, including Rima Kaddurah-Daouk, George Harrigan, Bruce Kristal, Roy Goodacre, Lloyd Sumner, Masaru Tomita and several others.

It has since grown to more than 500 members. The Society brings together, under one roof, scientists from study areas representing metabolomics, metabonomics, metabolite target analysis, metabolic profiling, metabolic fingerprinting or foot printing, metabolic flux analysis, biochemical modeling, and related informatics fields.

The Tsuruoka conference builds upon the outstanding success of the Metabolomics Society's annual conference in Glasgow last year and eight earlier conferences. The Society's conference series thereby represents the best established, most attended and longest running conference program in the field of metabolomics and metabonomics globally. It is not associated in any manner with OMIC Group International (Nevada, USA), its affiliates or subsidiaries.

For more information on the Metabolomics Society please visit http://www.metabolomicssociety.org/.

International Committee Members

In alphabetical order:

Masanori Arita National Institute of Genetics (Japan)
Dan Bearden NIST (USA)
Marta Cascante University of Barcelona (Spain)
Hannelore Daniel Technical University of Munich (Germany)
Rick Dunn University of Birmingham (UK)
Tim Ebbels Imperial College, London (UK)
Oliver Fiehn University of California Davis (USA)
Eiichiro Fukusaki Osaka University (Japan)
Roy Goodacre University of Manchester (UK)
Robert Hall Plant Research International (Netherlands)
Thomas Hankemeier Leiden University (Netherlands)
Choong Hwan Lee Konkuk University (South Korea)
Rima Kaddurah-Daouk Duke Institute for Brain Sciences (USA)
Matej Oresic VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland (Finland)
Jean-Charles Portais University of Toulouse (France)
Don Robertson Bristol-Meyers Squibb (USA)
Ute Roessner University of Melbourne and Metabolomics Australia (Australia)
Kazuki Saito RIKEN Plant Science Center (Japan)
Lloyd Sumner The Samuel Noble Foundation (USA)
Masaru Tomita Keio University (Japan)
Mark Viant University of Birmingham (UK)
Dave Watson University of Strathclyde (UK)
Guowang Xu Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics Chinese Academy of Sciences (China)

Local Committee Members

General Chair

Masaru Tomita (Keio University)

Local Members

Masaru Tomita
Goh Matsuo
Dougie Murray
Kenji Nakahigashi
Tomoyoshi Soga
Masahiro Sugimoto
Keio University
Masanori Arita National Institute of Genetics / RIKEN
Akira Oikawa Yamagata University
Yoshiaki Ohashi Human Metabolome Technologies, Inc.
Martin Robert Tohoku University
Natsumi Saito Tsuruoka National College of Technology

steering members in bold


  • Agilent Technologies
  • Bruker Corporation
  • Human Metabolome Technologies
  • LECO Corporation
  • Shimadzu Corporation
  • Thermo Fisher Scientific, Inc.
  • Waters Corporation