• Late breaking poster abstracts will not be included in the conference book, rather be printed on standard A4
  • While we endeavour to include late breaking posters in the main exhibition areas, we cannot guarantee this and posters may be exhibited at alternative locations.
  • Posters are not eligible for any award or prize.


Authors are invited to submit an abstract of up to 700 characters including space. Only one abstract could be submitted per author.

Notification of Acceptance - Tuesday, 15th April

Authors will be advised of the International Organizing Committee’s decision by Tuesday 15th April. Please note that all presenters (poster and oral) will be required to pay the full registration fee. Early registration deadline is 10th April.

Abstracts Category

In the submission system, we ask you to choose one of the following categories to help session organization. Please choose the nearest theme. 

  • drugs and medicinal
  • cancer
  • CVD, diabetes
  • neuroscience
  • parasitology, pathology
  • microbiology
  • nutrition
  • model organisms
  • plant physiology
  • crop improvement
  • environmental
  • flux and pathways
  • new technology
  • data analysis, networks
  • omics and integration

Also don't forget to look at our Awards and Prizes section as there are many available. Please check the relevant box during the abstract submission process.

note: You must create an abstract submission account as it is not linked with the registration system.

Poster Dimension

The poster size is A0 ( 90 cm width x 120 cm height ). Please print your poster in a portrait layout (not landscape).

You can apply to the following awards by selecting the relavant tick-box when submitting your abstract via the online submission system.


Metabolomics Society student travel awards & student prize

The Metabolomics Society will provide up to ten $500 student travel awards for outstanding academic achievement. The awardees will be invited to give an oral presentation and the best presenter will be awarded a $200 student prize.


  • Student members of the Metabolomics Society only (undergraduate or graduate student/pre-doctoral researcher)
  • Tick the student award category when you submit an abstract from our online system
  • Hold student membership on 7th April 2014 and have confirmed continuing membership until after the conference date (register early)
  • Must be registered and have paid the fees to attend the annual conference by the 6th April, 2014

1st Prize

Shao Thing Teoh
Osaka University, Japan

Runners Up

 Hindrike Bammann

CAS-MPG Partner Institute for Computational Biology, China

Huai-Hsuan Chiu

National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Chaevien S Clendinen

University of Florida, USA

Zanariah Hashim

Osaka University, Japan

Cheng-Cheng Lin

Chang Gung University, Taiwan

Adriana Nori de Macedo

McMaster University, Canada

Christoph Ruttkies

Leibniz Institute of Plant Biochem, Germany

Gregory S Stupp

University of Florida, USA

Surachat Tangpranomkorn
Chulalongkorn University, Thailand


Best Young Investigator in Plant Metabolomics

The Noble Foundation provides two prizes, one for best oral presentation and the other for best poster presentationEach of the two prizes will include an elegant trophy and a small monetary award.


  • Active graduate students or postdocs (within 3 years of completing their PhD)
  • Tick the general or student category when you submit an abstract from our online system
  • Must have a plant metabolomics component to their research presentation
  • Must be registered and have paid the fees to attend the annual conference by the 29th May, 2014
  • Noble awardees are still eligible for other awards


Tetsuo Katsuragi

Nara Institute of Science and Technology


Alexandra Wenzel

Technische Universitaet Muenchen, Germany


Agilent TechnologiesOutstanding Investigator Award

Agilent Technologies awards two prizes to recognize outstanding achievement in metabolomics.

1st place - airfare / hotel and meeting registration (value up to $5000)
2nd place - airfare (value up to $2000)


  • Anyone (except instrument manufacturers and exhibitors) submitting an abstract is eligible to enter. Please tick the general award category when you submit an abstract from our online system.
  • Must be registered and have paid the fees to attend the annual conference by the 29th May, 2014
  • Agilent awardees are still eligible for other awards.

1st Prize

Dr. Patrick Pollard

Edinburgh Cancer Research UK Centre, UK

2nd Prize

Dr. Oliver AH Jones

RMIT University, Australia

  • Agilent Technologies
  • Bruker Corporation
  • Human Metabolome Technologies
  • LECO Corporation
  • Shimadzu Corporation
  • Thermo Fisher Scientific, Inc.
  • Waters Corporation